Sturgeon River House Museum

 

museum-logo - 50e reduced size

250 Fort Road
Sturgeon Falls, ON 
P2B 2N7

Tel: 705-753-4716

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


    Hours of Operation - Summer 2017

    As of Thursday, June 1st, 2017

    Sunday - Closed
    Monday - 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.
    Tuesday - 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.
    Wednesday - 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.
    Thursday - 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.
    Friday - 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.
    Saturday - Closed

    As of Tuesday, July 4th, 2017

    Sunday - 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.
    Monday - 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.
    Tuesday - 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.
    Wednesday - 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.
    Thursday - 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.
    Friday - 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.
    Saturday - 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.


    NOTICE

    The Sturgeon River House Museum Nature Trails are currently closed and are undergoing repairs. At this time, the trails will remain closed until repairs are completed. 

    Welcome to one of West Nipissing's finest attractions! 

    The Sturgeon River House Museum, located on the west bank of the Sturgeon River, was established in order to promote, conserve and enhance the culture and particularly the heritage of the population of the Municipality of West Nipissing.

    Permanent exhibit
    The Museum's permanent exhibit consists of many interesting artifacts, examples of traditional snares and bush shelters, information on the remarkable fur-bearing animals of the north, a fascinating video on the creation of birch bark canoes, and so much more. Also, step back in time within our trading post replica to get an authentic feel for Ontario' rugged past. This exhibit is a tribute to the northern spirit of survival.


    Temporary Exhibit
    The West Nipissing Francophone Pioneers Exhibit is a temporary exhibit putting into perspective the colonisation and of francophone pioneers in the communities of Cache Bay, Crystal Falls, Desaulniers, Field, Lavigne, River Valley, Sturgeon Falls and Verner during the years of 1880 to 1939. The goal of the exhibit is to inform the public on the popular culture and social history of the West Nipissing pioneer families. Come and discover the era of the pioneer days.

    Gift Shop
    Within the museum, you will find a Souvenir and Gift Shop filled with unique items such as hand painted cards, portraits, dried flower arrangements and homemade soaps and other memorable keepsakes.

    Inner court AreaMuseumCourtyard
    Enjoy a family picnic outdoors under a party tent or in our picnic area fronting the beautiful Sturgeon River. You will find a workable Blacksmith Shop known as La Forge Charles, the Duquette Icehouse where blocks of ice are stored throughout the year and the Maison Major, our old pioneer style home. An open-air stage is available for outdoor concerts or plays.

    Four Season Walking Trails
    The Museum boast four (4) kms of low impact walking trails though provincially significant wetlands. Enjoy an interpretative trek to the natural cranberry bogs and to the waterfowl lookout overlooking beautiful Lake Nipissing.dsc 0443atv

    Banquet Hall and Boardroom
    The Banquet Hall is available for all special occasions, meetings and conferences. A fully equipped kitchen and bar facility are at your disposal or you may wish to have your event catered by the Museum staff.

    The Boardroom, located on the second floor, consist of a kitchenette area and of seating arrangements accommodating 15 to 25 persons. Audio-visual equipment is available at an extra cost.

    Boat Launch and Docking Facilities
    The Museum offers boat launching with access to the Sturgeon River for a minimal cost. A seasonal pass may also be purchased. Docking facilities are available for tourists arriving by waterway and for use during special events such as our annual fishing tournament.

     

     

     

    Cache Bay • Crystal Falls • Desaulniers • Field • Kipling • Lavigne • North Monetville • River Valley • Sturgeon Falls • Verner

Musée Sturgeon River House

WNO-WEBSITE-1200px-banner-Museum

 

Nous joindre

705.753.4716
Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.
250 chemin Fort Road, Sturgeon Falls, Ontario P2B 2N7

Page Facebook Musée Sturgeon River House Museum

 


 

Heures d’ouverture

Mardi, mercredi, vendredi : 9h-16h

Jeudi : 12h-20h

Samedi, dimanche, lundi : fermé (ouvert seulement pour les événements réservés)

Admission Générale: $4 + taxes par personne

 


 

Événements au Musée

Suivez-nous sur Facebook pour rester au courant de nos événements, y compris

  • marchés agricoles
  • soirées peinture
  • activités éducatives avec Science Nord
  • ateliers divers
  • festivals et divertissements

 

Organisez un événement

Nous offrons des services d’événements sur demande pour des rassemblements tels que

  • soirées de votre choix
  • visites scolaires
  • fêtes d’anniversaire, d’équipe, de retraite
  • mariages et réunions 

Veuillez nous joindre par téléphone ou courriel pour organiser un événement ou réserver une visite.
705.753.4716
Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.

 


 Visitez le Musée et le beau paysage qui l'entoure


Situé sur la rive Ouest de la rivière Sturgeon, le Musée Sturgeon River House a été établi afin de promouvoir, conserver et rehausser la culture, notamment le patrimoine de la population de la Municipalité de Nipissing Ouest.


Exposition permanente
L'exposition permanente du musée comprend de nombreux objets intéressants, des exemples de pièges et d'abris forestiers traditionnels, de l'information sur les animaux à fourrure remarquables du Nord, un vidéo instructif sur la construction d'un canot d'écorce, et plus encore. Retournez dans le passé de l'Ontario et faites l'expérience authentique du poste de traite de fourrures recréé dans le musée. Cet élément de l'exposition rend hommage à l'esprit de survie des gens du Nord.


Exposition temporaire
L'exposition temporaire des pionniers francophones de Nipissing Ouest met en perspective la colonisation et les pionniers francophones des collectivités de Cache Bay, Crystal Falls, Desaulniers, Field, Kipling, North Monetville, Lavigne, River Valley, Sturgeon Falls et Verner entre les années 1880 et 1939. Le but de l'exposition est de renseigner le public sur la culture populaire et l'histoire sociale des familles pionnières de Nipissing Ouest. Venez découvrir cette ère de notre passé ...

Boutique de souvenirs
La boutique du musée est remplie d'articles uniques comme des cartes peintes à la main, des arrangements de fleurs séchées, du savon de fabrication domestique et d'autres articles souvenirs exceptionnels.

Cour intérieureMuseumCourtyard
Jouissez d'un pique-nique au grand air sous la tente ou dans l'aire de pique-nique qui longe la belle rivière Sturgeon. Situer tout prêt sont l'atelier de forgerie Charles, la glacière Duquette qui renferme des blocs de glace toute l'année et la maison-Major, une réplique de maison de pionniers. Une estrade extérieure sert à présenter des spectacles et des pièces.

Sentiers pédestres de nature (quatre-saisons)dsc 0443atv
Quatre kilomètres de sentiers de promenade écologiques dans des zones humides d'importance provinciale font partie de l'emplacement du musée. Cette excursion est guidée à travers des tourbières de canneberges et mène au poste d'observation des sauvagines donnant sur l'imposant lac Nipissing.

Salle de réception et salle de conférence
La salle de réception est disponible pour toutes les occasions spéciales, les réunions et les conférences. Elle est munie d'une cuisine tout équipée et des installations de bar. Vous avez l'option de recourir au service de traiteur des employés du musée.

La salle de conférence, située au deuxième (2e) étage, comprend une cuisinette et peut accommoder de 15 à 25 personnes. Pour des frais additionnels, vous aurez accès à l'équipement audiovisuel. 

Rampes de mises à l'eau et installations d'accostage publiques
Pour des frais modiques ou l'achat d'un laissez-passer saisonnier, vous pouvez mettre votre bateau à l'eau sur la rivière Sturgeon. Des installations d'accostage sont à la disposition des touristes qui arrivent par voie nautique ou des participants et participantes à des activités spéciales telles que notre Tournoi de pêche annuel.

 

 

Cache Bay • Crystal Falls • Desaulniers • Field • Kipling • Lavigne • North Monetville • River Valley • Sturgeon Falls • Verner